Glycerin magic!!

glycerineHello There!!

Today I am writing about Glycerin and its benefits for the skin.

Glycerin also known as Glycerol is a transparent, odorless, viscous liquid. It is sweet-tasting and non-toxic.

Glycerin is easily soluble in water making it an ideal ingredient in homemade facepacks, masks and moisturizers.

I was first introduced  to the magical skin benefits of glycerin when I read a blog post almost 5 years ago, since then I have been experimenting with it in all my homemade beauty recipes.

The following are some of the ways we can incorporate glycerin into our daily skincare routine:

As a Moisturizer

Glycerin is a great moisturizer especially for people with dry skin. Every night just before going to bed, I apply a few drops of glycerin with one drop of rose water to my face and neck using a cotton ball. By morning my skin feels so supple and baby soft.

I would recommend using just a little quantity on the face so that it can be absorbed easily as glycerin can be a little sticky and messy.

I have also noticed that by morning, all the fine lines and wrinkles on my face have also disappeared!!

Ingredient in facepacks

Another wonderful use of glycerin is as a part of my facepacks. Every weekend, I make simple facepack with rose water, fuller’s earth, honey and glycerin.

This pack does all the magic, it reduces tan, exfoliates the skin and at the same time leaves it baby soft!!

I totally recommend following this weekly routine and reap all the magical benefits of glycerin.

Glycerin is a humectant. It helps retain moisture in the skin and maintains water balance by minimizing water loss due to evaporation.

I am still experimenting with this magical liquid and will be posting new recipes for facepacks and masks using glycerin soon.

Until then, do try out these simple daily care routines and share your experiences!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Nikita Jain says:

    This sounds really simple n effective nd less time consuming. I will surely try it out.

    Like

    1. prettysutra says:

      Nikita do try it out and let me know your experience!!

      Like

Leave a comment